We’re baaaaacckkk!

The group landed safely Friday morning at Dulles and we made our way quickly through the new Customs machines, then through the lines to speak with a Customs official who checked passports and the attractive receipts that we received from the machines…photos that made passport, visa, and license photos look like fine portraiture! I had such a nice smile from my Customs agent who looked at my passport, asked if I had any food (“Cookies.”), stamped my passport, returned my passport to me, and said, “Welcome back!”

We were met by our drivers who got the luggage on board quickly and headed back to Chatham, where we arrived somewhere between 3:30 and 4:00 Friday afternoon.

A big thanks to Aaron, in DC, and Supriya, and Karan in India, for anticipating needs, keeping us moving, altering the schedule when it made sense, and for having a sense of humor! We were in good hands. And a big thank you to the bus driver, whose name I do not know — he was a skilled driver who kept us safe and as on time as was humanly possible! Arrival at Indira Gandhi International Airport where we had a 9:20 p.m. flight for which we were supposed to arrive three hours early? Six nineteen!

And a big thanks to a great group of students who traveled well, were respectful of the country and its people..and of each other. And of the elephants! India will miss you!

Leave a comment